What Are The Officer Ranks In The British Army?

Commissioned Officers in the UK hold the Queen's commission and their rank in order of senior to junior are:

Field Marshall
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant Colonel
Second Lieutenant
Officer Designate
Officer Cadet

Badges of British Army Officer Ranks

UK Officers will wear the following badges on their uniform to signify their rank:

General (Gen)- Crown, star and crossed sword with baton.

Lieutenant General (LT Gen) - Crown and sword with a baton.

Major General (Maj Gen) - General star and sword with a baton.

Brigadier (Brig) - Crown and three stars.

Colonel (Col) - Crown and two stars.

Lieutenant Colonel (Lt Col) - Crown and star.

Major (Maj) - Crown.

Captain (Capt) - 3 stars.

Lieutenant (Lt) - 2 stars.

Lieutenant (2 Lt) - 1 star.

Junior ranks and Non Commissioned Officers.

More military trivia questions.

Automatically Add Us To Your Favourites Folder - Bookmark Us.

We are seeking fascinating facts to send to our twitter followers. If you would like to send us some then we will retweet it to our followers and include your @ name as a thank you, which can help you in turn get more followers. Just send it to the Uttertrivia Twitter account.

© Site contents copyright UtterTrivia.com 2005 - 2021. All rights reserved.
Privacy/Disclaimer Policy